Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eBooks: E-book databases / E-kirjatietokannat

LUT Academic Library's eBooks

Licensed eBook databases

Compare different eBook databases

Alma Talent logo
Includes   Alma Talent Verkkokirjahylly, Fokus, Bisneskirjasto includes e-books from business, law, taxing, finance, etc., mainly in Finnish.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to Alma Talent Verkkokirjahylly, Alma Talent Fokus and Alma Talent Bisneskirjasto can be found in LUT Primo and LAB Primo.
Logging in   Via the Primo of your own organization. Access: log in at the portal with your username and password.
Reading and downloading books

 

To access the e-books you need to log in to Alma with your username and password (Haka-login).
Books are read online.

Offline downloading

  No downloading.
Loan period   No loan period. Online.
Printing   For personal use.

Research Guides Blog - Research Guides at Sacred Heart University

Includes   Includes approx. 180 000 e-books from different fields, mainly in English.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to the EBSCO - eBook Academic Collection can be found in LUT Primo and LAB Primo.
Logging in   Via the Primo of your own organization. Access: log in to the portal with your user name and password.
 
Reading and downloading books  

The books can be read online in a browser or they can be downloaded and read offline.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  For downloading the whole book, you need to create a personal EBSCO-account.
You also need to install an Adobe Digital Editions program to able offline-downloading. Full books can be downloaded in PDF-format.
Mobile app  

The EBSCO Mobile app provides a way to download and read eBooks from library´s EBSCO eBook collections. The app enables to download e-books and read them in the app without needing and Adobe ID or the Adobe Digital Editions app. Search and load EBSCO Mobile from the store. You need to have a personal My EBSCO -user account.
EBSCO guidance for the app

My EBSCO -user account   To create a personal EBSCO user account you must enter EBSCO platform via LUT Primo or LAB Primo. Use Database seach and find "EBSCO - eBook Academic Collection". Access the collection with your Haka sign in. After entering the EBSCO platform, press Sign in (on top right, in blue column) and create your account with Sign up -option.
Notice! The EBSCO user account connection to your organizational Haka log in will expire in six months and you need to "refresh" the connection by signing in to EBSCO via LUT Primo or LAB Primo.
EBSCO guidance How to create and manage a My EBSCO account
Loan period   1-7 days.
Printing   The printing is limited. The number of pages varies according to each book. You are not allowed to print a whole book.
The Reader software   Adobe Digital Editions program allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
More   New books are added to the collection continuously, but they can also be removed without notice.
Ellibs logo
Includes   Includes approx. 500 separate e-books from different fields, mainly in Finnish.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to Ellibs can be found in LUT Primo and LAB Primo.
Logging in   Via the Primo of your own organization. Access: log in at the portal with your username and password.
Reading and downloading books   Ellibs-books are borrowed with your username and password (Haka-login) to your own computer and read with a reader program, Adobe Digital Editions. Some of the Ellibs books can be read online. The books are also suited for some eReaders. More information below. With Internet Explorer, there can be problems with the browser view, especially when using older versions. For browsers, Ellibs recommends Chrome, Safari, or Firefox, depending on the device.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  To download the Ellibs-book you need to install the Adobe Digital Editions -reader software to your computer. See instructions for PC or instructions for Mac. Some of the Ellibs books can be read online without the e-book reader software.
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

 

The Ellibs-books can be read on an iPad or iPhone with Aldiko. An Adobe-ID is needed. See instructions.

Or you can use the Ellibs app that you can download to your iOS device from the App Store.

Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

 

The Ellibs-books can be read on an Android devices with Aldiko app. An Adobe-ID is needed. See instructions.

Or you can use the Ellibs app that you can download to your Android device from the Google Play Store.

Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  Ellibs-books can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the EPUB-format and Adobe Digital Editions (not Amazon Kindle). List of compatible devices.
Loan period   The loan period for the books varies; it is usually from 1 to 7 days. The book can be returned before the end of the loan period. The e-book file that is loaded to the own computer, can no longer be used when the loan period has expired. Reservations are possilble. Read more from Ellibs instructions.
Printing   The printing limit depends on the book. In the book's item info on the Adobe Digital Editions, you can find information on whether or not you are allowed to print or copy the book.
The Reader software   The Adobe Digital Editions -software allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
More   The books are used by one person at a time. Books on loan cannot be renewed. Some of the Ellibs books can be reserved.
Ebook Library logo
Includes   Includes approx. 200 separate e-books from different fields, mainly in English.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to Ebook Library (EBL) can be found in LUT Primo and LAB Primo.
Logging in   Via the Primo of your own organization. Access: log in at the portal with your username and password.
Reading and downloading books   The books can be read in a browser or they can be downloaded and read offline. More information below.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  To download the EBL-book you need to install the Adobe Digital Editions -Reader software to your computer. See more instructions.
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

  The EBL-books can be read on an iPad or iPhone with Bluefire Reader app. An Adobe-ID is needed. See instructions.
Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  The EBL-books can be read on an Android devices with Aldiko app or Bluefire Reader app. An Adobe-ID is needed.
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  EBL-books can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the EPUB-format and Adobe Digital Editions (not Amazon Kindle). List of compatible devices.
Loan period   The loan period for the books varies; it is 1-4 days. The file can no longer be used when the loan period has expired. Books can be also read online.
Printing   The printing limit depends on the book. In the book's item info on the Adobe Digital Editions, you can find information on whether or not you are allowed to print or copy the book.
The Reader software   The Adobe Digital Editions -software allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
More   Download must be opened online before it can be read offline.

 

Image result for kauppakamari
Includes   Kauppakamari Ammattikirjasto includes e-books from business, law, taxing, finance, etc., mainly in Finnish. Includes collections: Talous, Johtaminen, Juridiikka and Työsuhde.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to Kauppakamari Ammattikirjasto can be found in LUT Primo and LAB Primo.
Logging in   Via the Primo of your own organization. Access: log in at the portal with your username and password.
Reading and downloading books

 

To access the e-books you need to log in to Alma with your username and password (Haka-login).
Books are read online.

Offline downloading

  No downloading.
Loan period   No loan period. Online.
Printing   For personal use.
VLeBooks logo  
Includes   Includes approx. 800 separate e-books from different fields, mainly in English.  
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to VLeBooks can be found in LUT Primo and LAB Primo.  
Logging in   Via the Primo of your own organization. Access: log in at the portal with your username and password.  
Reading Online   Reading Online: VLeBooks requires only that you use a web browser and requires no additional software or plug-ins. JavaScript must be enabled within the browser, but Flash is not required.

Offline Downloading

  The VLeBooks App is available free of charge and once installed on the students mobile device allows a downloaded eBook to be read with all the advanced functionality you would expect of a modern eReader App.
Lending period   24 hours  
Reserving e-books   You can make a reservation to an e-book. You have four hours after receiving the e-mail to borrow the book for yourself.  
Guide   VLeBooks Quick Reference Guide
Ebook Central logo
Includes   Includes approx. 100 000 e-books from different fields, mainly in English.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to the Ebook Central can be found in LAB Primo.
Logging in   Via the Primo of your own organization. Access: log in to the portal with your user name and password.
 
Reading and downloading books  

The books can be read online in a browser or they can be downloaded and read offline.

NB: Some of the books cannot be downloaded/saved offline. More instructions from Proquest's Ebook Central guide.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  If you want to download the whole book to your computer (offline-downloading) you need to install an Adobe Digital Editions program. Single chapters can be downloaded also in PDF-format. Create a free user account in Ebook Central for the download (Sign In > Create new account). For more information see downloading instructions and video tutorial.
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

  Ebook Central books can be read on an iPad or iPhone with the BlueFire Reader app. For downloading you need an Adobe-ID and a free Ebrary account (Sign In > Create new account). For more information see downloading instructions and Ebook Central guide.
Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  Ebook Central books can be read on Android devices with BlueFire Reader app. For downloading you need an Adobe-ID and a free Ebook Central account (Sign In > Create new account). For more information see downloading instructions and Ebook Central guide.
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  Ebook Central books can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the EPUB-format and Adobe Digital Editions -readers. Single chapters of books in PDF-format can also be dowloaded to Amazon Kindle. List of compatible devices.
Loan period   14 days (offline download)
Printing   The printing is limited. The number of pages varies according to each book. You are not allowed to print a whole book.
The Reader software   Adobe Digital Editions program allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
Accessibility Mode   If you are using a screen reader, the option to turn accessibility mode on or off will be read out by your screen reader. See Ebook Central: Accessibility Mode for Screen Readers
If you cannot turn it on using a screen reader, after you have signed into your Ebook Central bookshelf account online, bring up the Profile page by clicking on the Settings -> Profile menu items located on the top right corner of the page.
More   New books are added to the collection continuously, but they can also be removed without notice. One user can have a maximum of 10 books that have been downloaded offline. A maximum of 40 pages can be saved in PDF-format.

 

Image result for duodecim oppiportti
 
 
Sisältö   Palvelu sisältää Duodecimin kirjoja, jotka löytyvät välilehdeltä "Oppikirjat".  
Kirjojen löytyminen   Oppiportin teokset löytyvät LAB Primon haulla.  
Kirjautuminen   Kirjaudu oman organisaatiosi Primoon Haka-kirjautumisella.  
Oman tilin luominen

 

Suoritettujen verkkokurssien todistusten saaminen:

Todistusten saamiseen vaaditaan henkilökohtainen Duodecim-tili. Tilin pääsee luomaan menemällä LAB Primon kautta Oppiporttiin Haka-tunnistautumisen kautta. Tilin luominen: Oma Oppiportti -> Uusi käyttäjä. Omilla tunnuksilla voi sen jälkeen kirjautua suoraan Oppiporttiin ilman HAKA-tunnistautumista. Näin tuleekin tehdä, jotta saa todistukset suoritetuista verkkokursseista.
Tilin käyttöoikeudet ovat voimassa 12 kk siitä, kun niitä on viimeksi käytetty Haka-kirjautumisen ja LAB Primon kautta. Jos tunnuksia on käytetty viimeksi tammikuussa 2021, niin tunnus vanhenee tammikuussa 2022. Pääset kuitenkin edelleen Omat tiedot -kohtaan, jossa on raportit suoritetuista verkkokursseista.

Ohjevideo henkilökohtaisten Duodecim-tunnusten luomiseen.

 

Oppaita

  Terveysala: Terveysportti ja Oppiportti
Duodecim Oppiportti -ohje
 
Laina-aika   Ei laina-aikaa. Online.  
Tulostaminen ja tallentaminen  

Tulostaminen on sallittu artikkeli/luku kerrallaan.
Osia kirjasta voi tallentaa copy/paste -toiminnolla.

 
Ongelmatilanteet

Kirjautumisessa ja kurssien suoritusmerkintöjen rekisteröinneissä on esiintynyt joitakin ongelmia. Voit pyytää apua osoitteesta oppiportti@duodecim.fi

Palvelun tuottajan käyttöohjeet ja usein kysytyt kysymykset löytyvät Oppiportin etusivun alavalikosta.

 

Knovel Accelerates Speed to Solution for Engineers - Digital Engineering

Includes  

Knovel includes thousands of e-books and reference books from several subject areas in engineering and technology. Topics are such as Aerospace & Defense, Oil & Gas, Chemical Engineering, Engineering Design & Construction, Education & Research and Equipment Manufacturing. Books are mainly in English

Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to the Knovel can be found in LUT Primo.
Logging in   Via the Primo of your own organization. Access: log in to the portal with your user name and password.
 
Reading and downloading books  

The books can be read online in a browser. Chapters can be downloaded and read offline.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  If you want to download a chapter to your computer (offline-downloading) you need to install an Adobe Acrobat Reader program. Chapters can be downloaded in PDF-format.
Loan period   No loan period. Online. Downloading electronically limited sections.
Printing   The printing is limited. The number of pages varies according to each book. You are not allowed to print a whole book.
More information Elsevier´s "What is Knovel?"-LibGuide: https://elsevier.libguides.com/knovel-libguide

Sage logo

Includes   Includes approx. 900 titles on the field of scientific research methods. Not included: cases, datasets and some videos.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to the Sage Research Methods Online can be found in LUT Primo.
Logging in   Via the Primo of your own organization. Access: log in to the portal with your user name and password.

 
Reading and downloading books  

Content is available for view at the chapter, entry, and article level. For PDFs you need Adobe Reader. It is not possible to download entire books but you can download part of the material as PDF.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  Content is available for view at the chapter, entry, and article level. For PDFs you need Adobe Reader. It is not possible to download entire books but you can download part of the material as PDF. Create a free user account in Sage Research Methods Online for the download (Login -> Profile -> Create Profile). For more information see Sage Research Methods Online Help and video tutorial.
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

  Sage Reasearch Methods Online content can be read on an iPad or iPhone with the BlueFire Reader app. It is not possible to download entire books but you can download part of the material as PDF.
Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  Sage Research Methods Online contents can be read on Android devices with BlueFire Reader app.
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  Sage Research Methods Online contents can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the EPUB-format and Adobe Digital Editions -readers. List of compatible devices.
Loan period   -
Printing   The printing is limited. The number of pages varies according to each book. You are not allowed to print a whole book.
The Reader software   Adobe Digital Editions program allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
More   New books are added to the collection continuously, but they can also be removed without notice.

 

Springer logo
Includes   Includes approx. 40 000 e-books mainly scientific and technical.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to the SpringerLink can be found in LUT Primo.
Logging in   Via the Primo of your own organization. Access: log in to the portal with your user name and password.

 
Reading and downloading books  

The books can be read online in a browser in PDF-format with Adobe Reader. They can be downloaded and read offline. Springer allows downloading of individual chapters as DRM-free PDFs, by clicking on the Download PDF -link below each chapter title. You can also download the entire book as a PDF by clicking the Download Book -button. Use the Save option in your PDF viewer.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  If you want to download the whole book to your computer (offline-downloading) you need to install an Adobe Reader -program. Single chapters can be downloaded also in PDF-format. 
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

  SpringerLink books can be read on an iPad or iPhone in PDF-format. 
Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  SpringerLink books can be read on Android devices in PDF-format. 
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  SpringerLink Books are downloaded as PDFs, so as long as you have a PDF reader installed on your device, you will be able to download to mobile devices using a number of PDF download tools.
Compatible eReaders
  SpringerLink books can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the e-book reader format. Single chapters of books in PDF-format can also be downloaded to Amazon Kindle. List of compatible devices.
Loan period   -
Printing   You can download and print the whole book or chapters for your own personal use.
The Reader software   -
More   SpringerLink also includes books that aren't licensed to LUT University. You can browse those by marking the option "Include Preview-Only Content" in advanced search.