Skip to main content

Nursing research guide: General

LUT Academic Library's collections in Finna

LUT Academic Library Lahti collection is available through Masto-Finna and Lappeenranta collection is available through Saimia Finna. You can renew your loans, make reservations and save your favourites in Finna.  

With Finna Basic search / Academic library's collections search you'll be able to find 

  • print & electronic books  
  • print & electronic journals  
  • databases  
  • Saimia, LAMK, LAB and LUT theses 


With the International e-materials search you'll find: 

  • international full-text articles from several databases 
  • Articles from EBSCO-databases are only partly shown in the international e-materials search, so try doing a search also in EBSCO databases. 


​Finnish articles search you'll find (only available in Masto-Finna): 

  • Finnish fulltext articles and article references  

To use the e-materials log in Finna using the Haka-login option. Saimia Finna and Masto-Finna have the same e-materials, so you can use either for your searches. 

Quick guide to Finna

In the Finna search service you can look for materials using the name of the material or the author, or by using search term relating to the subject. 

  • Narrow your search results by using the Finna filters  
  • The asterisk * is a wildcard, and it can be used to replace the end of a search term 
  • If you want your search terms to appear together as a phrase, use "quotation marks" around them  
  • The Boolean operators AND, OR & NOT can be used in Finna, please note that AND is built-in so you don't have to type it into your search.  

Read more search tips and tricks from the Finna search service guide

Library is here to help

​At an information retrieval guidance you will receive personal assistance with information seeking, help in finding and using the databases most relevant to your study subject and help with referencing. The duration of the session is approx. 30 minutes.

Book a tailored guidance session by using the online form.

Before the appointment, please look at the self-study materials found in these guides and do a few searches in Finna. Also think of a few possible search terms relating to your subject.