Skip to main content

eBooks: eBook Databases: Find and Compare

Lappeenranta Academic Library's eBooks

eBook databases accessible with your library card

Licensed eBook databases

Loading ...

Compare different eBook databases

Ellibs
Includes   Includes approx. 500 separate e-books from different fields, mainly in Finnish.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to Ellibs can be found in the LUT Finna or Saimia Finna. Ellibs books are also cataloged in the Wilma Finna.
Logging in   Via the Finna of your own organization. Access: log in at the portal with your username and password.
Reading and downloading books   Ellibs-books are borrowed with your username and password (Haka-login) to your own computer and read with a Reader program, Adobe Digital Editions. Some of the Ellibs books can be read online. The books are also suited for some eReaders. More information below. With Internet Explorer, there can be problems with the browser view, especially when using older versions. For browsers, Ellibs recommends Chrome, Safari, or Firefox, depending on the device.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  To download the Ellibs-book you need to install the Adobe Digital Editions -Reader software to your computer. See instructions PC, instructions Mac. Some of the Ellibs books can be read online without the e-book reader software.
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

 

The Ellibs-books can be read on an iPad or iPhone with Bluefire Reader app. An Adobe-ID is needed. See instructions.

Or you can use Ellibs app. You can download the Ellibs to your iOS device from the App Store.

Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

 

The Ellibs-books can be read on an Android devices with Aldiko app or Bluefire Reader app. An Adobe-ID is needed. See instructions.

Or you can use Ellibs app. You can download the Ellibs to your Android device from the Google Play Store.

Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  Ellibs-books can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the EPUB-format and Adobe Digital Editions (not Amazon Kindle). List of compatible devices.
Loan period   The loan period for the books varies; it is usually 2 or 7 days. The book can be returned before the end of the loan period. Also books that can be read online must be returned. The file can no longer be used when the loan period has expired. Read more Ellibs instructions.
Printing   The printing limit depends on the book. In the book's item info on the Adobe Digital Editions, you can find information on whether or not you are allowed to print or copy the book.
The Reader software   The Adobe Digital Editions -software allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
More   The books are used by one person at a time. Books on loan cannot be renewed. Some of the Ellibs books can be reserved.
Ebook Library
Includes   Includes approx. 200 separate e-books from different fields, mainly in English.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to EBL can be found in the LUT Finna or Saimia Finna. EBL books are also cataloged in the Wilma Finna.
Logging in   Via the Finna of your own organization. Acess: log in at the portal with your username and password. LUT   Saimia
Reading and downloading books   The books can be read in a browser or they can be downloaded and read offline. More information below.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  To download the EBL-book you need to install the Adobe Digital Editions -Reader software to your computer. See more instructions.
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

  The EBL-books can be read on an iPad or iPhone with Bluefire Reader app. An Adobe-ID is needed. See instructions.
Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  The EBL-books can be read on an Android devices with Aldiko app or Bluefire Reader app. An Adobe-ID is needed.
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  EBL-books can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the EPUB-format and Adobe Digital Editions (not Amazon Kindle). List of compatible devices.
Loan period   The loan period for the books varies; it is 1-4 days. The file can no longer be used when the loan period has expired. Books can be also read online.
Printing   The printing limit depends on the book. In the book's item info on the Adobe Digital Editions, you can find information on whether or not you are allowed to print or copy the book.
The Reader software   The Adobe Digital Editions -software allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
More   Download must be opened online before it can be read offline.

 

Dawsonera
Contents   Includes single e-books in English from different fields (e.g. textbooks).
Where do I the the eBooks?   The link to Dawsonera can be found in the LUT Finna. Dawsonera's books have also been cataloged to the Wilma Finna.
Logging in   Via the Finna of your organization. Access: log in to the portal with your user name and password.
 
Reading and downloading books   You can read the books online or download them to your own device. Please accept first the terms and conditions. To download the book you need to install the Adobe Reader or the Adobe Digital Editions  software to your computer. See more instructions

Computer
(offline downloading)

  To download the book you need to install the Adobe Reader or the Adobe Digital Editions software to your computer. See more instructions
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

  Dawsonera books can be read on an iPad/iPhone with Bluefire Reader app. The Adobe-ID is needed.
Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  Dawsonera books can be read on an iPad/iPhone with Bluefire Reader app. The Adobe-ID is needed.
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  Dawsonera's books need an Internet connection which is why the books cannot be read on or downloaded to traditional eReaders.
Loan period   The loan period for the books varies; it is from 2 hours to 1-7 days.
Printing   The printing limit depends on the book.
The Reader software   The Adobe Digital Editions -software allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
More   The download book has to be open via browser before it can be read offline.

 

Includes   Includes approx. 100 000 e-books from different fields, mainly in English.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to the Ebook Central can be found in the Saimia Finna.
Logging in   Via the Finna of your own organization. Access: log in to the portal with your user name and password.
 
Reading and downloading books  

The books can be read online in a browser or they can be downloaded and read offline.

NB: Some of the books cannot be downloaded/saved offline. More instructions from Proquest's Ebook Central guide.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  If you want to download the whole book to your computer (offline-downloading) you need to install an Adobe Digital Editions program. Single chapters can be downloaded also in PDF-format. Create a free user account in Ebook Central for the download (Sign In > Create new account). Downloading instructions. Video tutorial.
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

  Ebook Central books can be read on an iPad or iPhone with the BlueFire Reader app. For downloading you need an Adobe-ID and a free Ebrary account (Sign In > Create new account). Downloading instructionsEbook Central guide.
Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  Ebook Central books can be read on Android devices with BlueFire Reader app. For downloading you need an Adobe-ID and a free Ebook Central account (Sign In > Create new account). Downloading instructionsEbook Central guide.
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  Ebook Central books can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the EPUB-format and Adobe Digital Editions -readers. List of compatible devices. Single chapters of books in PDF-format can also be dowloaded to Amazon Kindle.
Loan period   14 days (offline download)
Printing   The printing is limited. The number of pages varies according to each book. You are not allowed to print a whole book.
The Reader software   Adobe Digital Editions program allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
More   New books are added to the collection continuously, but they can also be removed without notice. One user can have a maximum of 10 books that have been downloaded offline. A maximum of 40 pages can be saved in PDF-format.

 

Contents   Fields covered include e.g chemistry, construction, general engineering, environmental engineering, electrical engineering, food science and material science. You can see all the subject areas in LUT collection by choosing Browse --> My Subscription.
Where do I the the eBooks?   The link to Knovel can be found in the LUT Finna. Knovel's books have also been cataloged to the Wilma Finna later.
Logging in   Via the Finna of your organization. Access: log in to the portal with your user name and password.
 
Reading and downloading books   You can read the books online or download chapters to your own device. Downloading an e-book is possible one chapter at a time as a pdf. Downloading the whole book at a time is not possible. To download the chapter you need to install the Adobe Reader software to your computer. See more instructions. When you use My Knovel ToGo for the first time, you need to create an account to Knovel on your computer. The e-books downloaded to the application can also be read on your computer when you sign in to your Knovel account. You can read downloaded e-books on your mobile device also offline. Quick Guide.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  To download the book you need to install the Adobe Reader software to your computer.
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

 

Mobile use requires Adobe Reader application or My Knovel ToGo application (iPad ja Android). Guide.

 

Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  Mobile use requires Adobe Reader application or My Knovel ToGo application (iPad ja Android). Guide.
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  Knovel's books need an Internet connection which is why the books cannot be read on or downloaded to traditional eReaders.
Loan period   -
Printing   Printing is possible one chapter at a time. Printing the whole book at a time is not possible. It is possible to edit e-book tables and graphics according to your needs.
The Reader software    
More   -

 

Springer

Includes

Includes approx. 40 000 e-books mainly scientific and technical.

Where do I find the eBooks?

The link to the SpringerLink can be found in the LUT Finna and the Wilma Finna.

Logging in  

Via the Finna of your own organization. Access: log in to the portal with your user name and password. 

Reading and downloading books

The books can be read online in a browser in PDF-format with Adobe Reader. They can be downloaded and read offline. Springer allows downloading of individual chapters as DRM-free PDFs, by clicking on the "Download PDF" link below each chapter title. You can also download the entire book as a PDF by clicking the blue "Download Book" button. Use the Save option in your PDF viewer.

Computer
(offline downloading)

If you want to download the whole book to your computer (offline-downloading) you need to install an Adobe Reader - program. Single chapters can be downloaded also in PDF-format. 

iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

SpringerLink books can be read on an iPad or iPhone in PDF-format. 

Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  SpringerLink books can be read on Android devices in PDF-format. 
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  SpringerLink Books are downloaded as PDFs, so as long as you have a PDF reader installed on your device, you will be able to download to mobile devices using a number of PDF download tools.
Compatible eReaders
  SpringerLink books can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the e-book reader format. List of compatible devices. Single chapters of books in PDF-format can also be downloaded to Amazon Kindle.

Loan period

  -
Printing   You can download and print the whole book or chapters for your own personal use.
The Reader software  

You can be do using comments on downloaded PDFs.

More   SpringerLink also includes books that aren't licensed to Lappeenranta Academic Library. You can browse those by marking the option "Include Preview-Only Content" in advances search.

Includes   Includes approx. 900 titles on the field of scientific research methods. Not included: cases, datasets and some videos.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to the Sage Research Methods Online can be found in LUT Finna.
Logging in   Via the Finna of your own organization. Access: log in to the portal with your user name and password.

 
Reading and downloading books  

Content is available for view at the chapter, entry, and article level. For PDFs you need Adobe Reader. It is not possible to download entire books but you can download part of the material as PDF.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  Content is available for view at the chapter, entry, and article level. For PDFs you need Adobe Reader. It is not possible to download entire books but you can download part of the material as PDF. Create a free user account in Sage Research Methods Online for the download (Login -> Profile -> Create Profile). Sage Research Methods Online Help. Video tutorial.
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

  Sage Reasearch Methods Online content can be read on an iPad or iPhone with the BlueFire Reader app. It is not possible to download entire books but you can download part of the material as PDF.
Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  Sage Research Methods Online contents can be read on Android devices with BlueFire Reader app.
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  Sage Research Methods Online contents can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the EPUB-format and Adobe Digital Editions -readers. List of compatible devices.
Loan period   -
Printing   The printing is limited. The number of pages varies according to each book. You are not allowed to print a whole book.
The Reader software   Adobe Digital Editions program allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
More   New books are added to the collection continuously, but they can also be removed without notice.

 

Loading ...