Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Terms of use for e-resources: EBSCO Scientific & Medical ART Imagebase

LUT Academic Library

Description

This imagebase, created by Nucleus Medical Art, provides a comprehensive collection of downloadable medical illustrations and animations. Ideal for students and teachers of anatomy, physiology, biology and other life sciences, Scientific & Medical ART Imagebase (SMART Imagebase) contains medical illustrations, animations and interactive multimedia.

Owning organisation: LAB

LAB logo

 

Authorized user

Authorized Users are employees, students, registered patrons, walk-in patrons, or other persons affiliated with Licensee or otherwise permitted to use Licensee's facilities and authorized by Licensee to access Databases or Services.

Authorized Users do not include alumni of the Licensee.

Permitted use

3.4. Authorised Users and Walk-in-Users may:
3.4.1. Search, download, view, retrieve and display the Licensed Material.
3.4.2. Electronically save individual articles or items of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof.
3.4.3. Make a reasonable number of photocopies of parts of the Licensed Material.
3.4.4. Print off limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof.
3.4.5. Distribute single copies of parts of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof in print or electronic form to other Authorised and Walk-in-Users. This sub-clause shall include the distribution of a copy for teaching purposes to each individual student Authorised User in a class at the Licensee’s institution.
3.4.6. Publicly display or publicly perform parts of the Licensed Material to Authorized Users in a class.
3.4.7. Publicly display or publicly perform parts of the Licensed Material as part of a presentation at a seminar, conference, or workshop, or other such similar activity.
3.4.8. Reading impaired Authorized and Walk-in-Users may use Braille displays, voice synthesizers and other devices to enable use of the Licensed Material.
3.4.9. Extract and use excerpts from the Licensed Material for academic research, scholarship, and other educational purposes, including extraction and manipulation for the purpose of illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, research, and analysis.
3.4.10. Use with appropriate credit, figures, tables, and brief excerpts from the Licensed Material in the Authorized User’s own scientific, scholarly, and educational works including but not limited to books and articles.
3.4.11. Incorporate parts of the Licensed Material in printed or electronic form in Academic Works, including reproductions of the Academic Works for personal use and library deposit, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice of the Licensee. Reproductions in printed or electronic form of Academic Works may be provided to sponsors of such Academic Works. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner.
3.4.12. Produce translations of user guides and other promotional materials available at Licensor website (public or secure) or otherwise received from Licensor, electronically save/deposit such translations on any electronic network including networks open to the public, display and distribute such translations via any said electronic network for the purpose of promotion or for training Licensee's Authorised and Walk-in-Users and for the use of other Licensee's for the same purpose.
3.4.13. Produce audio visual works that include parts of the Licensed Material (including but not limited to trademarks, logos and screenshots), electronically save/deposit such works on any electronic network including networks open to the public, distribute and publicly perform such works via any said electronic network for the purpose of promotion or for training Authorised and Walk-in-Users and for the use of other Licensee’s for the same purpose. For avoidance of doubt any shown full text must be limited to snippets.

3.5. Only Authorised Users may:
3.5.1. Distribute single copies of parts of the Licensed Material in print or electronic form to third party colleagues for the purposes of scientific research and communication or to be used for the basis of discussion groups.
3.5.2. Incorporate links to the Licensed Material in electronic reserves for the use of Authorised Users in the course of instruction. Reserves in non-electronic non-print perceptible form, such as Braille, may also be offered to Authorized Users who, in the reasonable opinion of the Licensee, are reading impaired.
3.5.3. Deposit the learning and teaching objects as referred to in clause 3.4.2. in electronic repositories operated by the Licensee on a Secure Network. The access and use of such learning and teaching objects is subject to Copyright Law.


Note: Publishers may impose their own conditions of use applicable only to their content. Such conditions of use shall be displayed on the computer screen displays associated with such content.

EBSCO Terms of Use

Prohibited use

4.1. The Licensee, Authorised Users or Walk-In-Users may not
4.1.1. Remove or alter the authors’ names or the Licensor’s copyright notices or other means of identification or disclaimers as they appear in the Licensed Material.
4.1.2. Systematically make printed or electronic copies of multiple extracts of the Licensed Material, save as permitted elsewhere in this Agreement.
4.1.3. Provide, by electronic means, to a user at another library or elsewhere, a retained electronic copy of any part of the Licensed Material, save as permitted elsewhere in this Agreement.
4.1.4. Display or distribute any part of the Licensed Material on any electronic network, including without limitation the Internet and the World Wide Web, other than a Secure Network, save as permitted elsewhere in this Agreement.
4.1.5. Permit anyone other than Authorised or Walk-In-Users to access or use the Licensed Material, save as permitted elsewhere in this Agreement.

EBSCO Terms of Use

Exceptions to licensing terms above

4.2.1. Publishers may impose their own conditions of use applicable only to their content. Such conditions of use shall be displayed on the computer screen displays associated with such content.

If a publisher imposes conditions or changes imposed conditions in a way that affects terms and conditions of this agreement, Licensor will inform Licensees of these changes in due time.

Remote access

The Licensee and Sites are authorized to provide remote access to the Databases and Services only to their patrons as long as security procedures are undertaken that will prevent remote access by institutions, employees at non-subscribing institutions or individuals, that are not parties to this Agreement who are not expressly and specifically granted access by EBSCO.

Personal data

To use Full Download -feature, a personal EBSCO account is needed. Please, read more about data protection at LUT and EBSCO.
LUT Academic Library: Data protection
EBSCO Privacy Policy