Terms of use for e-resources: Cambridge University Press

Cambridge University Press publishes more than 420 peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine.

Authorised User: (i) any current student, member of faculty, staff and researchers of Licensee who is authorised by a Licensee to access the Secure Network; and/or (ii) any individual granted temporary permission by a Licensee to access the Secure Network whilst on its premises (Walk-in-User).

Authorized Users and Walk-in-Users may for Educational and administrative Purposes:

• Search, retrieve, download, view and display the Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive.
• Electronically save copies of parts of the Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive.
• Print off single copies of parts of Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive.
• Share single copies of parts of the Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive in print or electronic form including email to third parties outside the Licensee for the purposes of scientific research and communication or to be used for the basis of discussion groups.
• Publicly display or publicly perform parts of the Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive as part of a presentation at a seminar,conference, or workshop, or other such similar activity.
• Reading impaired Authorized and Walk-in-Users may use Braille displays, voice synthesizers and other devices to enable use of the Purchased Products and Journals Shallow Archive.
• Extract and use excerpts from the Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive for academic research, scholarship, and other educational purposes, including extraction and manipulation for the purpose of illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, research, and analysis.
• Use, with appropriate credit, figures, tables, and brief excerpts from the Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive in the Authorized User’s own scientific, scholarly, and educational works including but not limited to books and articles.

Authorized Users may:

• Make a reasonable number of photocopies of parts of the Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive.
• Share parts of the Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive in print or electronic form including email to other Authorized and Walk-in Users. This shall include sharing a copy for teaching purposes to each individual student Authorized User taking part in a course at the Licensee’s institution.
• Incorporate parts of the Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive in printed and electronic course packs, study packs, resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner. Course packs in non-electronic non-print perceptible form, such as Braille, may also be offered to Authorized Users who, in the reasonable opinion of the Licensee, are reading impaired.
• Incorporate parts of the Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive in printed or electronic form in Academic Works, including reproductions of the Academic Works for personal use and library deposit, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice of the Licensee. Reproductions in printed or electronic form of Academic Works may be provided to sponsors of such Academic Works. Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source, listing title and copyright owner.

• Authorised Users may use the Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive for the purposes of TDM in accordance with local legislation particularly section 13b (263/2023) of the Copyright Act (404/1961).
• Authorised Users may use the results of their TDM in their research and make the results of their TDM publicly available, provided that no Purchased Product and Journals Shallow Archive or part of a Purchased Product and Shallow Archive is reproduced within such research, other than as permitted by applicable law.

For any questions relating to TDM please contact openresearch@cambridge.org.

Except in the course of exercising rights specifically granted in this Agreement or other prior written consent or permitted under any applicable
Creative Commons license or copyright law, the Licensee shall not:

• remove or alter Licensor’s copyright notice or other means of identification or disclaimers as they appear on a Purchased Product or Journals Shallow Archive;
• systematically make printed or electronic copies of the Purchased Product or Journals Shallow Archive;
• permit access to the Products to anyone who is not an Authorised User;
• display or distribute any part of a Purchased Product or Journals Shallow Archive on any electronic network, (including without limitation the internet and the world wide web) other than the Secure Network;
• use all or any part of a Purchased Product or Journals Shallow Archive for Commercial Use;
• modify, adapt, or alter a Purchased Product or Journals Shallow Archive or make available a Purchased Product or Shallow Archive in any other form or medium or create derivative works from a Purchased Product or Journals Shallow Archive;
• create a database in electronic or structured manual form by downloading and storing any content from the Purchased Product or Journals Shallow Archive;
• attempt to interfere with the proper workings of any online provision of the Products including attempting to circumvent security, tamper with, hack into or otherwise disrupt or compromise the functionality or availability of the Server or other internet-connected device used as part of Licensor’s IT system which enables access to the Products;
• subject to clause 4.3, individually download Purchased Product or Journals Shallow Archive content at rate which may reasonably be regarded as excessive.;
• use any automated retrieval devices (such as web robots, wanderers, crawlers, spiders of similar devices) save that this is not intended to prevent a Licensee from using a federated search engine or discoverability service as part of its library information services; nor
• otherwise download, store, reproduce, transmit, display, print, copy, distribute, extract, exploit or use the Purchased Products or Journals Shallow Archive.
• supply the whole or part of any Purchased Product or Shallow Journals Archive to another institution or library.

Remote access is allowed for authorized users through the institution's secure network.